Since 1984, The Land Conservancy of New Jersey has been providing scholarships to residents of New Jersey pursuing degrees in environmental science, natural resource management, conservation, park administration, and related fields. This program rewards environmental scholars who plan to pursue careers protecting the natural resources of their home state.

Applications for 2022 will be available on January 1.

We award four scholarships annually–the Russell W. Myers Scholarship, the Rogers Family Scholarship, and two Rochkind-Wagner Scholarships. One winner will be chosen for each of these four $7,500 scholarships. The selection process is devoted to quality, diversity, and inclusion.

The Russell W. Myers Scholarship Fund was established in 1983 to honor Mr. Myers, the founder of The Land Conservancy of New Jersey, and the first scholarship was issued the following year. Mr. Myers was an outstanding leader in the field of conservation who served as the first Director of the Morris County Park Commission for more than a quarter century. His dynamic leadership established the Morris County Park System as the largest county park system in the State of New Jersey and one of the finest in the nation.

The Rogers Family Scholarship was established in 2005 by Gray and Mollie Rogers, dedicated conservationists who wanted to expand The Land Conservancy’s educational support for outstanding environmentally oriented students. The Rogers family developed a challenge to help raise additional funds for the scholarships. Thanks to the generosity and foresight of the Rogers family the grants given by The Land Conservancy’s Scholarship program have tripled.

The scholarship program is administered by our board of trustees. Payment of the scholarship is made directly to the institution that the successful candidate attends. If you have questions about our scholarship program, please contact Danielle Wolfrum at or (973) 541-1010 x25.

2011 interns Luke & Kyle.jpg

scholarship winners

2021: andreia resende,julia galayda, kenneth hamel, & danielle dyson
2020: toyosi dickson & jessica zhao
2019: xena itzkowitz & michael allers
2018: Patrick carney & justin rozema
2017: Sandeep dhagat & morgan torstenson
2016: Charlotte leib & jim duffy
2015: ryan martens & olivia tempest
2014: Rebecca wolf & michael endicott
2013: hanna morris & samuel gersie
2012: stephanie rivera & samantha apgar
2011: steven sheets & brian curry
2010: carly furman & amy burzynski
2009: kyle rossner & drew hart
2008: thomas reed & matthew trump
2007: bonnie waring & christa dilalo
2006: katherine ghilain & louise jensen
2005: brian atieh & william heritage
2004: beth gambino
2003: greg babbitt
2002: lauren musto
2001: erin mickelwaite
2000: marilyn eames
1999: erik fargo & jessica graham
1998: jessica graham
1997: robert fish
1996: josephine collins-james
1995: amy clay & jason hudsveth
1994: jason hudsveth, douglas wheat, michele louise infante
1993: kyle lischak, michele louise infante, harriot honigeld
1992: michele louise infante
1991: stephen digeralamo
1990: kristie maczko
1989: eric goldstein
1988: patrick boag & julie bargmann
1986: patrick boag
1985: julie bargmann
1984: daniel chieco